Mon-Fri 8-17, Sat-Sun 10-16
(UK time)

Key Stages: Key Stages of British High School

Show all
Key Stages: Key Stages of British High School

Often in the description of the training programs of the British schools one can meet the unfamiliar abbreviations KS-1, KS-3 instead of the usual notation "high school", "middle classes", etc. We will explain to you what the mysterious abbreviations mean and how to choose the most appropriate course appropriate for your child's age.

Key Stages, or milestones, are the schooling stages adopted in Great Britain after the educational reform of 1988 together with The National Curriculum (National Curriculum). This innovation was aimed at unifying the requirements for students at each level of education, making the transition from one institution to another easier, and also simplifying the process of choosing a training course for foreign students. Also, the Key Stages system helped create a single criterion for assessing knowledge, reinforcing the British education system.

Independent schools can establish their own criteria for evaluating students and transferring them to the next level, but, as a rule, follow a common plan and system.Public schools are necessarily guided by the final standard of each stage of training - and during the academic year (or several) they can build the program at their discretion in order to achieve the highest possible results.

Let's take a closer look at each step:

  • KS-1

This is a junior school (4-7 years), so pupils are often called Infants as well. It lasts three years, respectively, and corresponds to grade 1-2; At the end of the course, the students take the SAT exams.

  • KS-2

Junior stage for students from 7 to 11 years (Junior): the duration is 4 years (from 3 to 6 classes) and concludes with the SAT exams .

  • KS-3

The first stage of secondary school: here children from 11 to 14 years old (from 7 to 9 classes) study. The course ends with the uniform SAT school exams on basic, fundamental subjects.

  • KS - 4

Second stage of secondary school for children of 14-16 years old. It lasts 2 years (from 10 to 11 class) and ends with the receipt of a certificate of secondary education GCSE and the corresponding examinations.

There is also the notion of KS-0 and KS-5, but they function more as a tribute to tradition and a single pattern: the concept of "kindergarten" (and Nursery) and "high school, graduation classes, Sixth Form "Respectively. Examinations are not provided for in kindergarten, and final tests depend on the chosen pre-university training program (this may beIB , A-level , Pre-U , AP).

Read also...
You may be interested

Your comment/review/question:
Callback Free course selection Online consultant