Mon-Fri 8-17, Sat-Sun 10-16
(UK time)
  • Services
    • Services and prices
    • Immigration and citizenship
    • Scholarships
    • Tutoring and preparation for schools, universities abroad
  • Information
  • Partnership
    • Group travel
    • For teachers
    • Terms of partnership (for agents)
    • Instructions (for agents)
    • FAQ (for agents)
    • For schools
    • Educational fairs
    • Advertising
  • Contacts
2022-02-12 14:20:29

Countries where the Sun does not set: interesting facts

Countries where the Sun does not set: interesting facts

There is a common joke that in the Russian Federation you can meet New Year's Eve several times, if you move quickly enough. This is true – we have a large number of time zones, therefore, firstly, we celebrate at different times, and, secondly, a person traveling around the country "horizontally" with sufficient speed can have time to "celebrate" more than once or twice.

How many time zones do we have? Let's try to figure it out.

TOP-3 without a winner

It is our country that owns the palm of primacy in this part. Among all the states located for the most part on the continent, the Russian Federation has the most zones with different times - 11. Every single one is located on the Eurasian continent, and the time difference between the westernmost and easternmost points is 10 hours. When it's noon in Moscow, it's 10 p.m. in Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky, and in Yekaterinburg it's only three o'clock in the afternoon, and so on.

A strange coincidence: the United States also has 11 time zones, but the continental ones are much smaller, no more than six. The rest are located on overseas islands, such as Hawaiian, Samoa and Midway, Virgin, Guam and many others.

And if we add to these possessions, formally belonging to the United States, countless military facilities around the world, excluding Antarctica (at one time the American transshipment hub, with the help of which equipment, equipment and various niches were transferred from Western and Central Europe to Afghanistan, where the operation to clean up the Taliban was carried out, was even on Russian territory - near Ulyanovsk), it turns out that America inherited from the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland the title of an empire over which the sun never sets.

Even more – 12 – the number of time zones for the French, one more than for Americans. They are also scattered throughout the ball, while the metropolis is content with a single time zone.

All articles
Your comment / review / question
There are no comments here yet
Your comment / review
If you have a question, write it, we will try to answer
* - Field is mandatory
Egor Eremeev
Current material has been prepared by Egor Eremeev
Education: Westminster University (Business & Management), London.
Egor studied and lived in the UK for 8 years and graduated from the university of Westminster. He is currently the co-founder and the director of business development at Smapse Education and personally visits foreign schools and universities, interviews students studying in those institutions.
Callback Online consultant
Напишите нам, мы онлайн!